The Historic Gems of Canal Winchester

Prentiss Schoolhouse No.8

schoolhouse.jpg

Our beautiful brick one-room schoolhouse originally would have educated between 15-20 students, grades 1-8, with one teacher. The teacher would not be allowed to marry. In 1922 when the school consolidated, the building was returned to the land owner. At one point the building was used for casket storage. The schoolhouse was originally located on Gender Road and was moved to the Historical Complex in 1980 after the landowner decided to sell the property and donated to the Canal Winchester Area Historical Society.

Hocking Valley Train Depot
"Queen of the Line"

Our beautiful brick one-room schoolhouse originally would have educated between 15-20 students, grades 1-8, with one teacher. The teacher would not be allowed to marry. In 1922 when the school consolidated, the building was returned to the land owner. At one point the building was used for casket storage. The schoolhouse was originally located on Gender Road and was moved to the Historical Complex in 1980 after the landowner decided to sell the property and donated to the Canal Winchester Area Historical Society.